top of page
Meet the Committee

Our Committee is the backbone of the organisation.  Their job is to ensure that Evolution Theatre Company is always striving to meet its mission and providing value to the community, while remaining financially stable. They are our evangelists and ambassadors to the community.  


Jan Crawford - President

A keen theatre-goer and supporter of the arts, Jan brings her experience as an urban planner and

environmental mediator/facilitator to theatre governance. Gisborne born and bred, she is committed to growing live theatre that involves and reflects the whole community.

Jo Noble.jpg

Jo Noble - Member

Judy Hayes - Member

Kirsty Ellis - Member


Dave Henderson - Trustee

Dave accidentally fell into theatre and decided to stay. Dave brings his knowledge and experience from working in non-profit governance in Auckland before he moved back to sunny and quiet Gisborne. Dave is an experienced Toastmaster where he has held various committee roles and is currently the Area Director for East Coast and Eastern Bay of Plenty regions. When not busy with theatre and Toastmasters Dave works for OPAC Gisborne assisting kiwifruit orchards with pre-harvest and post- harvest services.  


Amber Aitkenhead - Member

Amber is of Nga Puhi descent but was born and raised In Turanganui-A-Kiwa. Since stumbling upon a role in an ETC play, Amber has been bitten by the ‘Stage bug.’ She has since been busy assisting with many aspects of both backstage and promoting the wonderful world of live theatre In our in our community. With a background in health science, a passion for volunteering, life is busy. Amber is on the board of the Gisborne Volunteer Centre and works full time at ACC. She aspires to promote Te Reo Māori storytelling kaupapa, revitalizing purukau, and reviving

oral traditions.

Dinna Myers

Dinna Myers - Treasurer

Dinna brings years of experience in nonprofit board work.  She served as a board member and later  the Secretary of ESTA (The Entertainment Services and Technology Association) from 2001 to 2014, where she received the organisation's highest honour, the Eva Swan Award for meritorious service.  Additionally, she served as Chair and later Treasurer for Silicon Valley Shakespeare for the first 12 years of its existence.  Most recently, she served as the Secretary for Musical Theatre Gisborne.  It has always been her passion to serve the entertainment community.


Suzan Anderson - Member Emeritus

Suzan has a passion for theatre and has transitioned from an avid theatre audience member to participating in local community and charity productions as both an actor and stage manager. She was the first chair of our Committee and one of the driving forces in the development of our mission and vision.  While she is in the process of moving to the South Island, her spirit will always permeate ETC and continue to inspire us to be the best we can be!  

Nikki Henderson

Nikki Henderson - Member Emeritus

Nikki is an experienced teacher who has spent 10 years working with primary aged students across a range of subjects. She now uses these skills working with adults in the field of mental health and addiction. Nikki completed her Bachelor of Teaching and Learning and her Masters of Education through the University of Canterbury and is currently studying for her Certificate in Health and Wellbeing. Theatre has been a great creative outlet for Nikki, with her passion lying in the technical and backstage arenas.

Thinking of joining the Committee?  We are currently seeking new members with specific backgrounds, such as politicians, solicitors, architects, engineers, accountants, business owners, real estate agents, and other professional members of the Gisborne community with a passion for the performing arts. If interested, please contact us.

bottom of page